Over 123 institutes to lose university tag from their names

University Grants Commission (UGC) has on November 10 issued a notice to 123 deemed-to-be universities in the country, asking them to refrain from using the word “university” in their names, failing which stringent action will be taken against the institution.

“The institutions are hereby directed to restrain from using the word ‘university’ with its name, failing which necessary action would be initiated in accordance with the UGC (institutions deemed-to-be-universities) Regulations, 2016. Instead, the institution may mention the word ‘Deemed to be University’ within parenthesis,” the UGC said in its order.

The institutions have been asked to ensure compliance ‘within 15 days from receipt of the letter.’

“Such deemed-to-be-universities can also apply for an alternative name with the HRD Ministry,” UGC secretary P K Thakur said in a statement.

This move is being implemented after it was brought to the notice of the Supreme Court that many institutions which have been conferred the status of deemed universities are using the word “university” in their names.

The move came days after the Supreme Court ruled that technical education cannot be provided through correspondence courses. The top court had in a recent ruling said the use of word `University’ by deemed-to-be universities is in violation of Section 23 of the UGC Act.

The move would affect institutions such as Indian Institute of Foreign Trade, Institute of Liver and Biliary Sciences, Indian Agricultural Research Institute in New Delhi; Christ University in Bangalore; Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies in Mumbai, Jamia Hamdard in New Delhi, Symbiosis International University in Pune; Birla Institute of Technology in Ranchi, Graphic Era University in Dehradun; Indian Veterinary Research Insititute in Uttar Pradesh; Karnal Forest Research Institute in Haryana.

Deemed university or Deemed-to-be-University is an accreditation awarded to higher educational institutions in India, conferring the status of a university. It is granted by the Department of Higher Education.