NMMS: INR 12,000 Per Year To be Awarded To 14.76 Lakh EWS Students

New Delhi, 21 February 2022: The Government of India has decided to continue the National Means-cum-Merit scholarship scheme for the next five years, according to which, a total of 14 lakh 76 thousand students belonging to the Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) category will get a financial award of INR 12,000 per year. The award will be given to address the issue of students dropping-out of school after Class 8 and to ensure the continuity of education at the secondary stage. 

Scholarship Registration and Login

STEM Scholarship Opportunities

National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship – Details

  • The budget of the NMMS implementation is INR 1,827 crore. 
  • For the next five years, the scheme aims to provide financial assistance of INR 12,000 every year to 14.76 lakh meritorious students from the economically weaker sections (EWS) category.


  • NMMS was launched in 2008-09. 
  • Students are selected for the scholarship through a test conducted by local authorities. 
  • Selected students are awarded the scholarship from Class 9 to Class 12.
  • Since the launch of this scholarship, a total of Rs 22.06 lakh National Means-cum-Merit scholarships have been sanctioned.

National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship – Eligibility

Candidates are eligible for the scholarship under the following conditions:

Career Assessment Test

  • Candidates must take up studies in approved courses.
  • Candidates must maintain good conduct as certified by the head of the college/institution and continue their studies as regular students in a government/government-aided local body orschool.
  • Candidates must not absent themselves without proper leaves.
  • Candidates must take up studies on a full-time basis.
  • Candidates must not take up any job while studying.

National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship – Disbursement of Scholarships

  • The selected candidates can avail only one scholarship at a time.
  • Selected candidates will be required to open bank accounts preferably in SBI, or any other public sector bank or any scheduled bank which has a core banking facility.
  • The state government/union territories administrations shall normally send the list of beneficiaries online on the scholarship portal. 
  • The awardees are entitled to get a minimum of 55% marks in Classes 9 and 11 and a minimum of 60% marks in Class 10 for continuance of scholarship in next higher classes.
  • The State Bank of India (SBI) will ensure that the scholarship is paid to awardees in one go (INR 12000) immediately after getting the funds and the lists from the ministry.
  • SBI will instruct some of its branches to coordinate with the state education department in connection with the payment of scholarships.

Note: The State Bank of India is the implementing bank for the disbursal of scholarships to students directly into their bank accounts by electronic transfer.


  1. Source of Information: Buddy4Study app compiles details on scholarships/fellowships from government websites and private scholarship sources. Links to the official sources accompany each listing detail pages.
  2. Non-affiliation: The Buddy4Study app is not associated with any government entity in India or elsewhere. When featuring government scholarships, we rely on publicly accessible information from central and state government websites in India.

Featured Scholarships

Scholarships For

Upto Class 8 Class 1 to10 (Pre-Matric) Class 9 to 10 (Pre-Matric) Post-Matric(Class 11-12) Class 11 & 12 Class 12 passed Polytechnic/Diploma/ITI ITI Diploma/Polytechnic Graduation Post-Graduation Medical Engineering Girls NSP Portal Income Based SC/ST/OBC Law

Scholarship by State

NSP Scholarships Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh Delhi Goa Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh Jammu & Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram Nagaland Odisha Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim Tamil Nadu Telangana Tripura Uttar Pradesh Uttarakhand West Bengal

Scholarships A to Z

Abdul Kalam Scholarship Aicte Internship AICTE NSP Scholarships Aicte Scholarship Aicte Swanath Scholarship Aikyashree Arunachal Pradesh scholarship Assam Scholarship Atul Maheshwari Scholarship Begum Hazrat Mahal National Scholarship Bihar Scholarship BYPL Sashakt Scholarship CBSE Scholarship Central Sector Scholarship CG Scholarship CG Scholarship Portal Chandigarh Scholarship Colgate Scholarship DCE Scholarship Delhi Scholarship Dhirubhai Ambani Scholarship Status of the Digital Gujarat Scholarship Disability Certificate Domicile Certificate Dr. Ambedkar Scholarship Dr. Ambedkar Scholarship, Haryana DRDO Scholarship Scheme For Girls DTE Scholarship in Maharashtra E Grantz E Grantz Login E Grantz Scholarship Status Kalyan Bihar Portal E Kalyan Status Epass Karnataka Ericsson Empowering Girls Scholarship Programme E. Samaj Kalyan Fellowships in India Gokdom Government Scholarships GSK Scholars Programme Gujarat Scholarship Haryana Scholarship Haryana Scholarship Portal HDFC Badhte Kadam Scholarship How to get a Caste Certificate HP Scholarship IET-India Scholarship Awards Immigration-Friendly Countries Income Certificate Indira Gandhi Single Girl Child Scholarship Inspire Scholarship Ishan Uday ITI Scholarships Jammu and Kashmir Scholarship Jharkhand Scholarship Jnanabhumi Application Status Kanyashree Karepass Karnataka Scholarships Kotak Kanya Scholarship Ladli Yojna Legrand Scholarship Mahadbt Mahadbt Login Mahadbt Scholarship Status Maharashtra Pre-Matric Scholarship Maharashtra Scholarship Manipur Scholarship MBA Scholarships in India MCM Scholarship Means Scholarship Meghalaya Scholarships Merck India Charitable Trust Scholarship Programme Merit Cum Means Scholarship For Minorities MHRD Scholarship MI Scholarship MOMA Scholarships MP Scholarship MP Scholarship Kyc MP Scholarship Portal MP Scholarship Status MYSY Scholarship Nabanna Scholarship Nagaland Scholarship National Scholarship Portal National Scholarship Portal (NSP) NMMS NSP Login NSP Renewal NSP UGC Scholarships Oasis Scholarship Oasis Scholarship Status OBC Scholarships Odisha Scholarship Olympiad ONGC Scholarship PFMS Login PFMS Scholarship Phd Scholarships PMRF PM Scholarship PMSSS Post Matric Scholarship Post-Matric Scholarship for Minorities Pragati Scholarship Pre-Matric Scholarship Pre-Matric Scholarship for Minorities Prerana Rajasthan Scholarship Rolls-Royce Unnati Scholarship Saksham Scholarship Programme for Drivers Children Saksham Scholarship Scheme Santoor Women's Scholarship SBI Asha Scholarship Programme SBI Education Loan SBI General Suraksha Support Scholarship Programme Schaeffler-India Hope Engineering Scholarship Scholarship Application Dos and Don'ts Scholarship Form Scholarships for Diploma Courses Scholarships for Indian Girls and Women Scholarships for North Eastern Students Scholarships for PG Students Scholarships for Undergraduates Scholarships in India Scholarship Status SC Scholarship SC ST Obc Scholarship Sensodyne Ida Shining Star Scholarship Programme Sitaram Jindal Scholarship SSP Scholarship ST Scholarship SVMCM Scholarship Eligibility Swami Vivekananda Scholarship Swami Vivekananda Scholarship Technip Energies India Scholarship Programme Telangana Scholarship The Tata Capital Pankh Scholarship Programme Top Scholarships for Medical Students Top Scholarships For Students Of Andhra Pradesh Tripura Scholarship Ugc Scholarship UP Post-Matric Scholarships UP Pre-Matric Scholarships UP Scholarship UP Scholarship Correction UP Scholarship Login UP Scholarship Registration UP Scholarship Renewal UP Scholarship Status Uttarakhand Scholarship Vidyalakshmi Portal Virchow Scholarship Programme VHTC WBMDFC West Bengal Scholarship