you are offline
Use Buddy4Study on mobile app Use App

National Means Cum Merit Scholarship Scheme 2017-18

Deadline: Deadline: Always Open31-Oct-2017
Apply Now

Add to Favorites


What is National Means Cum Merit Scholarship Scheme 2017-18?

National Means Cum Merit Scholarship 2017-18 is organized by Government of India. It invites application from students studying in class 9 who have secured minimum 55% marks or equivalent grade in class 8 examination. The objective of this scheme is to award scholarships to meritorious students of economically weaker sections and encourage to continue their study at the secondary stage. The selected students will receive INR 6000 per annum.

Who can apply for this scholarship ?

  • Students of class 9 are eligible to apply
  • Students should have secured minimum 55% marks or equivalent grade in class 8 exam (relaxable by 5% for SC/ST)
  • The family income is not more than INR 1.50 Lakh per annum

How can you apply ?

The application can be filled with the following steps:

Step 1: The application performa is available to District Education Officers or Principals of the schools in hard copy. It can also be downloaded from this link by the District Education Officer. It can be filled up by the student or school in excel sheet. The information of all the students of a school will be compiled in Excel sheet and verified by the Principal of the school, which will then be sent to District Education Officers either through email or on CD and hard copy.

Step 2: The District Education Officer (DEO) will log in with user ID and Password generated by the State Nodal Officer and sent to a registered mobile number of DEO.

Step 3: The mobile number can be given either of the student or parent/guardian/neighbor/friend etc.

Step 4: The use of Digital Signature Certificate (DSC) for data submission will be done by the State Nodal Officer only while submitting the data from State to this Department on NSP.

Terms and Conditions


  • Students of NVS, KVS, private and residential schools are not eligible for this scholarships
  • There is reservation as per State Government norms. The selection of students for award of scholarships is made through an exam conducted by the States or UTs
  • The students should have minimum of 55% marks or equivalent grade in class 8 exam for appearing in selection test for award of scholarship (relaxable by 5% for SC/ST)
  • At the time of selection for the award of scholarship, the student must have scored at least 55% marks or equivalent grade in class 8 exam. There will be 5 % relaxation for SC/ST
  • For continuing the scholarship in class 10 and 12 the awardees should get clear promotion from class 9 to class 10 and from class 11 to class 12 in the first attempt with 55% marks (relaxable by 5% for SC/ST). The awardees must obtain a minimum of 60% marks in class 10 (relaxable by 5% for SC/ST) examination or equivalent examination for continuation of the scholarship at higher secondary stage

Please submit your query
* Name is required.
* Name is too short.
* Name is too long.
* Please enter valid email address.
* Email is required.
* Mobile Number is required.
* Please enter correct number.
Add Comment

buddy4study app Make your Scholarship search faster, simpler and stay updated. GET APP