you are offline

The IET India Scholarship Award 2015

Deadline: Deadline: Always Open31-Mar-2015

Add to Favorites


What is The IET India Scholarship Award 2015?

The IET India Scholarship is a Prestige Award that has been designed to reward and celebrate creativity, excellence, innovation and leadership among undergraduate engineering students.
Scholarships worth Rs 8,00,000/-* to be won!
The IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology), India instituted the annual IET Scholarship Awards in 2013 to underline the organisation’s commitment to India’s engineering community and to incentivise young people entering the engineering and technology profession. The IET India Scholarship will be given on merit-based selection criteria. The total scholarship amount is Rs.8,00,000/-.
The IET India Scholarship programme has been designed to reward and celebrate individual excellence and innovation among undergraduate engineering students. B.Tech students from AICTE/UGC-approved institutions from across the nation can apply for the scholarships across two categories - General and Women.

The 2013 and 2014 editions of the India Scholarship Award received tremendous response from the engineering community with over 9,000 entries from students across India for the both the years.

The India Scholarship award evaluates participants across rigorous parameters that include academic performance, extracurricular activities, range of outreach activities and their ability to come up with engineering solutions to solve problems impacting society.

Part of its remit is promoting, recognising and rewarding excellence and it does this through four awards programmes: The Ambition Awards, Achievement Awards, Innovation Awards and Young Woman Engineer of the Year Awards. The IET India Scholarship award is part of the IET Ambition Awards programme that includes a range of undergraduate and postgraduate scholarships, competitions and travel awards encouraging young people to enter the engineering and technology profession and providing financial support throughout university. For more details, please visit

Who can apply for this scholarship ?

Eligibility for IET India Scholarship Award 2015
The IET India Scholarship Award 2015 will be open to students of 2nd and 3rd year B.Tech programmes Scholarship is also open for Lateral entry students who join B.Tech programme in 2nd year.

Eligibility Guidelines:
  1. Any second and third year full time regular UG Engineering programme student from an AICTE/UGC approved institution
  2. All regular credit courses must have been cleared in a single attempt by the applicant.
  3. UG marks should aggregate to at least 60% in aggregate for the semesters cleared so far or corresponding to CGPA of at least 6.5 on a 10 point scale.
  4. Higher Secondary (or equivalent) marks should be above 60% or of equivalent grade.
  5. There is no age limit for the applicant.
  6. Application is open for all IET members and non- members and for all branches of engineering as recognised by the AICTE/UGC.
  7. Students from AICTE/UGC approved Institutions are eligible to apply for the scholarship.
There will be two separate categories for the Scholarships:
  1. General Category
  2. Women Category
Any woman engineering student can apply for either of the categories

The evaluation of IET India Scholarship Award 2015 will be done across 4 different stages/ levels
Stage 1: Online Application
Students should apply for the IET India Scholarship Award 2015 online through this microsite. Applications will be considered to the IET India Scholarship Award only if attested copies (by HOD/ Principal) of required documents are scanned and uploaded by May 31, 2015
Note: Only those candidates who clear the eligibility criteria as set out by the IET India Scholarship Award will be considered in the Online Application
  • Academics – 60%
  • Extra & Co-Curricular – 20%
  • Outreach – 10% (Activities other than institutional activities like; coordinating or organising industrial visits, organising lectures/seminars etc.)
  • Professional – 10% (Membership in professional bodies, coordinating activities of the professional bodies, office bearer of any professional body/student chapter, contributing to professional bodies through papers presentations etc.)
  • Stage 2: Online Test
Candidates shortlisted from Stage 1 will take an online test. The online test is to assess the applicants’ knowledge in engineering subjects: Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Electrical, Electronics, Civil, Mechanical, and Computer Science
The total number of questions will be approximately 50 with multiple choice options.
A cut off mark/score will be decided for each regional level by the national jury. Based on the cut –off, the applicants will be shortlisted for the next level.
Stage 3: Regional Level Assessment
In the Regional Level Assessment, the contestant will be required to give a presentation on the topic that will be given by the Jury members. The topic will have current relevance and is focused on solving a current societal challenge in that region. The topic will be communicated to the contestants at least 10 days in advance to enable the student to prepare.

The Regional Assessment will be conducted across 4 regions:
  • Regional South
  • Regional North
  • Regional East + North East
  • Regional North
NOTE: The number of regions may increase or decrease depending on the number of eligible candidates for the regional rounds and the individual prize money will be adjusted accordingly.

Stage 4: The National Final
The National Final of IET India Scholarship Awards 2015 will be held tentatively in August or September 2015. Shortlisted candidates will make a presentation on their vision and solution, as they see it, for an engineering problem that is relevant to the society.
The National Final may also include a Group Discussion (GD) at the discretion of the jury. The topic for this GD will be given by the jury on the day of the National Final.

How can you apply ?

Number of Awards:
General Category:
  1. Two winners per Region (totally five regions)
  2. Two winners at the National level
Women Engineer:
  1. Two winners per Region (totally five regions)
  2. Two winners at the National level
Regional Level: (For both General and Women Categories)
  1. Winner - Rs.40, 000/- + Certificate
  2. Runner - Rs.20, 000/- + Certificate
National Level: (For both General and Women Categories)

Important Links

Please submit your query
* Name is required.
* Name is too short.
* Name is too long.
* Please enter valid email address.
* Email is required.
* Mobile Number is required.
* Please enter correct number.
Add Comment